The lakeland sports Promoter's association lunch 2005

(CLICK on thumbnail to see a larger picture - CLICK anywhere EXCEPT on the larger image OR the BACK ARROW to return to this page)

The Lakeland Sport Promoters Association acknowledged the exploits of five wrestlers at their events during 2005.

A crowded luncheon at the Heaves Hotel, Kendal, applaudedĀ Scott Brocklebank from Tewitfield (boys under 12 years) Graham Benson from Langdale (boys under 15 years); Tracey Hodgson from Dent (girls under 15 years), Graham Brocklebank from Warton (boys under 18 years) and John Harrington from Bewaldeth (seniors).

In addition, Graham Brocklebank was named Junior Lakeland Sportsperson and John Harrington received the main accolade as Lakeland Sports Personality 2005.

The engraved shields on the trophy he received read like a Who's Who of Lakeland sporting greats, starting with Bill Teasdale, King oif the Fells in the sixties. The awards relate to performances in LSPA affiliated events, many of which are in the south of Cumbria, where the fell running tradition is strongest.

As a result, John Harrington only attended four of the qualifying events, but he did so well at Millom, Grasmere, the Westmorland Show and Egremont Crab Fair, that he was a clear winner. At a thinly attended Crab Fair he won all three senior events; at the Westmorland Show in a series of toughly contested weights he gained two firsts and a second.

Graham Brocklebank was briefly in the Under 15 Years section at the beginning of the season, but after winning the Under 15 Championship at Carlisle, he moved up to the higher age-group. At LSPA events he won seven times including two senior wins.

Graham Benson of Langdale, the Under 15 Years nominee, also had seven wins. He is comparatively new to the sport and this year has been on a fast learning curve, improving all the time on his abundant natural abilities.

Tracey Hodgson of Dent has brought a new dimension to wrestling: the expectation that women's wrestling would form part of the programme at most meetings. She had a year to remember, especially the Bank Holiday week-end when she won at Newcastleton, Bellingham, Silloth, Keswick and twice at Grasmere.

Scott Brocklebank is a formidable opponent in the ring at Under 12 Years, but on the day of the LSPA awards he had been flattened by illness, so his father had to pick up the trophy which came from his success at seven venues.

Four runners also received awards: Emily Throup of Silsden had won three fell races including that at Wasdale Show. Rory Addison, a junior fellrunner from Kendal, also had three first including Ambleside in the rain. The senior nominees were Alistair Dunn, a fell runner whose wins included Wasdale and Ambleside, and Dave Allen, a track runner from Garsdale, who won prolifically at the four events which still continue the tradition of track running at Lakeland meets.

The trophy winners at the Lakeland Sports Promoters Association presentation luncheon held at the Heaves Hotel on Sunday 27th November are:

Alistair Dunn (fell runner from Kendal),

John Harrington (Lakeland Sports Personality 2005, wrestler from Bewaldeth),

Dave Allen (track-runner from Garsdale),

Graham Benson (boys under 15 years, wrestler from Langdale);

Tracey Hodgson (girls under 15 years, wrestler from Dent),

Emily Throup (girls under 12 years, fellrunner from Silsden),

Rory Addison (boys under 14 years, fellrunner from Kendal),

Graham Brocklebank (Junior Lakeland Sportsperson 2005, boys under 18 years, wrestler from Warton).

Missing due to illness: Scott Brocklebank (boys under 12 years, wrestler from Tewitfield)

Written by © Roger Robson. Photographs by © Roger Robson, Julian Richardson or Linda Scott (November 30th 2005)

Disclaimer ©2008 Webmaster